Passing On The Love

liebster award

So as luck would have it, Michelle from Bilingual Blogging nominated me for a Liebster Award, created to promote new blogs and build relationships between bloggers. I’m overklempt. (No, seriously, thank you Michelle!)

She gave me a few questions to answer:

  1. What place do you consider home? Bay Area, California
  2. What’s your favorite place that you have visited? Mexico City’s probably my favorite city, partly because of the familiar connection, but I also love Rio de Janeiro and Santiago, Chile.
  3. Where would you like to live ideally? By a beach with water warm enough to go swimming. (I need to specify this since I’ve lived in San Francisco.)
  4. Why are you passionate about your blog’s subject matter? São Paulo’s a fascinating city that’s impossible to understand with one glance. It’s not an obviously beautiful metropolis, but there’s so much to learn and discover here.
  5. Explain the name of your blog. The word tropical often conjures up romantic imagery, such as a paradise or exotic fruit, and the word smog is well, rather jarring. I think it’s a good, biting phrase to describe São Paulo because while it’s a loud, crazy city of cars and concrete, it also has a lot of beauty in unexpected places.
  6. Why did you start blogging? I didn’t really understand the city (see answer to question 4), so I decided to create this space to document my sort of discovery of my new home.
  7. What inspires your posts? I tend to gravitate to art and food a lot, but pretty much anything about the city can be inspirational. There’s always something going on.
  8. What’s your favorite style of music? Latin alternative
  9. What were you like in high school? I was quiet and sarcastic, with a small tight-knit group of friends. I liked books, drawing and soccer.
  10. What do you think you will be doing in 10 years? I hate this question because I don’t have a good answer. I have absolutely no idea. Hopefully something that makes me happy.

My worthy nominees are: The Hunger, Latin America Focus, and A Rant, A Rave and Everything in Between.

For the nominees:

If you’re interested, here are the Official Rules for accepting the Liebster Award:

  1. Answer the questions given and then come up with 10 new ones to ask your nominations.
  2. Nominate other blogs, let them know you have nominated them and put a link to their blog in your post.
  3. No Tag backs.
  4. Nominations must have under 200 followers.
  5. You must tell all the blogs that you nominate that you have nominated them.

My questions for the nominees: 

  1. What post are you most proud of?
  2. Do you listen to music while you blog? If so, what?
  3. Where’s one city you would like to visit?
  4. What subjects interest you, besides the one(s) you blog about?
  5. What’s the best compliment you’ve received?
  6. What would you title your autobiography?
  7. What’s one thing that’s surprised you as you’ve been blogging?
  8. What’s your favorite word?
  9. What’s one thing you would like to accomplish by the end of this year?
  10. What do you like on your pizza?

Leave a Reply

